Giesbrecht, Griffin, Funk & Irvine LLP Logo
Giesbrecht, Griffin, Funk & Irvine LLP



Service first.
Building and maintaining a relationship of trust
with our clients is paramount.

Estate Administration

 

Estate Administration

A friend or loved one has passed away and you have been named as the estate trustee or maybe one of several estate trustees. What are your obligations and where do you start? 

The administration of an estate in Ontario can be a complicated and time-consuming task. As estate trustee your basic duties are to look after the funeral arrangements, create an inventory of all of the deceased’s assets, determine and pay any outstanding debts, possibly apply to the Court for the Certificate of Appointment with a Will, file any remaining tax returns and distribute the remaining estate to the beneficiaries according to the instructions as set out in the will. This list of duties is general in nature and there may be additional steps required, depending on the estate’s complexity. 

Our office can assist you in the administration of the estate. We will ensure that you are aware of all of your obligations to the estate and to the beneficiaries and help you to avoid any potential pitfalls. The level of our involvement will depend on how much assistance you may require and will be tailored to your specific needs. 

 

 

Our Services May Include the Following:

  • Advising you on all matters in connection with the administration of the Estate.
     

  • Preparing and filing the application for the Certificate of Appointment to the Ontario Superior Court of Justice to confirm your appointment as Estate Trustee.
     

  • Preparing the advertisement for creditors if you wish to advertise for creditors.

  • Assisting you in maintaining bookkeeping records and in the preparation of Estate accounts for audit by the Court if you are required to pass your accounts.
     
  • Preparing releases for signature by the beneficiaries when they receive their share of the Estate, which releases will protect you from any future liability.

 

 

Contact

Ted Giesbrecht

519.579.4300 x 222
tgiesbrecht@ggfilaw.com

 

Warren Griffin

519.579.4300 x 224
wgriffin@ggfilaw.com

 

Stephen Funk

519.579.4300 x 225
sfunk@ggfilaw.com

 

Joseph Irvine

519.579.4300 x 223
jirvine@ggfilaw.com

 

Karin Maiterth
519.579.4300 x 262
kmaiterth@ggfilaw.com
Mark Radulescu
519.579.4300 x 293
mradulescu@ggfilaw.com
Robert Lanteigne
519.579.4300 x 236
rlanteigne@ggfilaw.com
Madchen Funk

519.579.4300 x 264

mfunk@ggfilaw.com